Google Maps will soon release a new feature called Share Your Location with your friends without having to open any other app!. Apple’s Find Your Friends app has done this for quite a while, but Google Maps allows you do this inside Google Maps on iOS and Android with an update, according to Google, ‘soon.’
Google has allowed you to share your location using the Google+ app for some time now. This new feature in Google Maps will be easier and done while you are in the Google Maps app. So how does this work? Google has a cool video how easy this is to share your location with who you want, for how long they can view your location and how it automatically ends in this video:
When you’re sharing your location, the people you’ve chosen to share with will see you on their map. And you’ll see an icon above the compass on your own map reminding you that you’re actively sharing your location. You can change your mind and stop sharing at any time—it’s entirely up to you. For more information Google has a page explaining this cool new feature.